Skip to content

Gero Zilmeta Stainless Steel Spoons

October 19, 2010

Gero Zilmeta Stainless Steel Spoons Cutlery

 

These are the spoons that started it all. When I saw the dessert spoon (middle) with its sleek modern curves, I realised that good design could elevate even the most mundane of objects into something a little bit special. A quick dig through the piles of cutlery revealed a total of 3 soup spoons, 2 dessert spoons and 1 teaspoon, checking out at a total of .50 cents. Who knows if I will be able to find the rest?

 

 

Gero is a Dutch company (website here, I recommend using Google Translator to view it in English) that has been producing cutlery since 1912. Zilmeta is an alloy of steel, chrome and nickel which is either the same, or very similar to, what we call stainless steel.

This mis-translated history of the knife, fork, and spoon through the ages is particularly charming : http://translate.googleusercontent.com/translate_c?hl=en&sl=auto&tl=en&u=http://shop.gero.nl/static.asp%3Fmyid%3D55&rurl=translate.google.com&twu=1&usg=ALkJrhiiDuavvSi-cBnCoypZIZwR-AyUvg .

I haven’t been able to find out much about this particular pattern so far, but the teaspoon looks a little like this one, which they call ZIL11, and is also listed on Replacements.com under that code here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Anne Salmon permalink
    April 30, 2011 2:57 pm

    I have that very cutlery set. I bought it in Brisbane at David Jones in 1975-1976. I still have it…My Dad made a box for it and I have rarely used it. It is my very best. Have and always will love this simple elegant flatware. I had to get a magnifying set of glasses to read the back marking. Just “Gero” “Zilmeta”. I have no idea where you buy this anymore. Have not seen it for a long long time. Just thought I would find out about it whilst looking on the net for How to clean Anodised bowl. Cheers.

  2. Georgina permalink
    September 6, 2011 10:27 am

    Hi,

    I have some cutlery from zilmeta gero like those on your website (the middle piece in your picture of three). I have some small dessert spoons and three pronged dessert forks. This has been from my grandmother and would love to find more to complete the set. Do you have any?

  3. Kate permalink
    October 2, 2011 2:12 pm

    Hi, Cherry. I have this cutlery. I will never sell it but if you are willing to sell me yours let me know.
    Kate.

  4. same permalink
    November 26, 2011 4:46 am

    I have 12 pie forks and 6 jam/preserve spoons ..pattern solo…make an offer

  5. Jan Swindale permalink
    January 11, 2012 9:06 pm

    I have this cutlery set which we purchased in 1974. One of the larger forks has been misplaced.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

